Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Niger or Nyjer?  (Read 124 times)

Big Gee

• Global Moderator
  • Gardening knowledge unshared is wasted
    • Aeron Vale Allotment Trust
Niger or Nyjer?
« on: February 27, 2015, 04:02:22 PM »

I have an embarrassing admission to make. I've always spelled 'Niger' seeds NIGER. However as I was nosing around looking for NIGER seed feeders (after reading Wonky's post 'Niger Seeds' I discovered that most of the sites I went on now spell it NYJER. So in my naivety I though "Oh that must be the proper spelling then - funny I didn't notice that before" and made a mental note to change the way I spell it from now on. HOW STUPID of me!  RedFaced:-(

It's a stupid bloody Americanism that's come about because of the connotations associated with 'Niger' (forgetting that the non politically correct word is actually spelled with a double 'G' and is quite acceptable to use - as long as you are of Negroid extraction otherwise you get accused of being a rabid racist!).

SO bird seed suppliers have decided to use the made up word 'Nyjer'! Have you heard of anything so blatantly stupid in your whole life? I honestly give up - I'm convinced there's a lunacy virus going about (that's probably originated in America) and it's infected the WHOLE of the western hemisphere of our planet. Not only does it cause lunacy, it also makes you become totally ignorant, childish, shallow and basically brainless and in the process every gram of common sense and intelligence based on basic education is sucked out of your head!  Angry:-{

You HAVE to read the following written by Karin Winegar - I agree so much with what she says that I could fall in love and marry her!!!  ROL :-))

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login  You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

wonky